top of page
Search

Middle School Spirit: Debbie Silver

📷

I didn’t choose middle school teaching, it chose me. After having taught all the elementary grades from first grade forward, I got “promoted” to teaching at the middle level. Suddenly I had the “big” kids, and instantly I fell in love. My sixth graders not only got my jokes, they actually laughed at them. They were just finding their voices in the world and were passionate about making it a better place. Students in middle school are wonderfully inventive, highly imaginative, and incredibly interested in the world around them. I can almost ßsee the wheels turning in their heads as they start making perceptive connections through intuitive leaps.


During their “mature” moments I can have deep, powerful discussions with them about relevant issues and complex subject matter. Yes, they can be irresponsible, clueless, overly-dramatic, and even mean sometimes, but the roller coaster ride of teaching at the middle level is so worth it. The highs far exceed the lows. They are young enough to show delight in the smallest surprises and yet old enough to question the wisdom of unconditional submission. Navigating their endless “why’s” challenges me to deeper levels of thinking, and knowing they watch (and judge) every move I make motivates me to be the best teacher I know how to be.

When I taught education classes at Louisiana Tech University I quickly identified those pre-service teachers I thought were cut out to teach at the middle level and encouraged them to think about teaching grades 5-9. You can read my article, “Can Anyone Be An Effective Middle Level Teacher?” here: https://www.middleweb.com/37833/should-you-become-a-middle-school-teacher


Debbie Silver, Ed.D., www.debbiesilver.com Teacher at Logansport Rosenwald and Keithville Elem/Middle School. Student at Stephen F. Austin State University, Louisiana State University - Shreveport, and Louisiana Tech University. Professor at Louisiana Tech University.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page