top of page
Search

Middle School Spirit: Kellyn Sirach

📷

“Miss, why you look so small? You look like a Polly Pocket.” These are the first words I heard from my middle school students on my first day of teaching. What had I gotten myself into? Why are they comparing me to a Polly Pocket? Am I really THAT small?


These students were taller than me, louder than me, and had way more sass than me (which if you know me, is hard to believe). I vividly remember the day I got hired as a middle school reading teacher. To say I was nervous would be an absolute understatement. About a month into the school year, I wanted to quit and give up. I didn’t think I was cut out to be a middle school teacher. Fast forward to today and I cannot imagine myself teaching anything but middle school.


Middle schoolers are amazing human beings. They are trying to find their place in the world and I love being a part of that. I get to help them navigate the world and help them learn to self-advocate for themselves. Daily, they teach me more about myself and life. They inspire me to be the best teacher and person that I can be. They remind me to keep it real and to give second chances.


I love the realness of middle school students. They push me to make relevant real-world connections with what we are learning. It is in middle school that students can begin serving as social justice leaders. These students are just beginning to change the world and make it a better place. I am so lucky to be a part of this crucial time in their lives.


Not only are middle schoolers amazing, but middle school teachers are amazing. Without my fabulous coworkers, I wouldn’t still be teaching middle school today. The 8th grade team I work with is encouraging, positive, and helpful. We all are passionate about middle level learners and helping them succeed. I love coming to work each and everyday not only because of my students, but also because of my team members.


My middle school family -- both students, teachers, and administrators -- are always there for me. I love spending my days with my crazy middle school family and can’t imagine myself anywhere else.


Kellyn Sirach; 8th grade RLA; Rantoul, IL; Eastern Illinois University, MsEd 2019; Southern Illinois University Carbondale B.S 2014

8 views0 comments
bottom of page