top of page
Search

Middle School Spirit: Shelley Joan Weiss


📷

MIDDLE LEVEL STUDENTS ARE THE BEST!! They have taught me the most valuable lessons in life. Nothing compares to learning with early adolescents - middle level students - and the people surrounding them. I LOVE the excitement, curiosity, sincerity, intensity, and creativity they bring to the world. I have learned more than I could describe through my work with early adolescents - and all of those who have chosen to support their growth and development.


Middle level students have taught me to learn more about physical, social, emotional, intellectual, and brain development - and appreciate all of the unique characteristics every child offers. I’ve learned the importance of understanding and enjoying the differences between students. Middle level students have provided me with lessons about making social justice a reality and taking action to support others who have limited opportunities. I’ve gained experience and confidence about questioning the status quo and challenging authority through the courage that early adolescents demonstrate - daily.


I am eternally thankful for the times and the ways that early adolescents have challenged me and made me ask “why” I think or act the way I do. Middle level students always make me clarify my purpose, my values, and my actions. They held me to a higher standard. Early adolescents - middle level students - have made me a better teacher, a better leader, and a better human being. THANK YOU to all of the middle level students who have shaped my life! MIDDLE LEVEL STUDENTS ARE THE BEST!!


4 views0 comments
bottom of page